Levine Douglas
Dott. Levine Douglas



Director, Gynecologic Oncology
Head, Gynecology Research Laboratory
Professor, Division of Gynecologic Oncology
Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center
New York University Langone Health

Douglas A. Levine MD is gynecologic oncologist who specializes in the surgical treatment of women with known or suspected ovarian or uterine cancers.

In addition to his clinical practice, Dr. Levine is the current Head of the Gynecology Research Laboratory, where he studies cancer prevention, precision medicine, and rare tumors with unmet needs. He serves as the translational scientist on many national clinical trials determining what genomic alterations are associated with response to targeted therapies. He discovered universal mutations in SMARCA4 that drive small cell carcinoma of the ovary, hypercalcemic type. Dr. Levine has an outstanding level of expertise and leadership in ovarian and endometrial cancer research and a deep commitment to women’s health.

Dr. Levine has been very active within the NIH-sponsored Cancer Genome Atlas project (TCGA). He served as co-chair of the ovarian, endometrial, uterine carcinosarcoma, and Pan-GYN disease working groups. He is a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Ovarian Cancer Research Alliance, Clearity Foundation, and Honorable Tina Brozman Foundation. He has authored or co-authored more than 220 peer-reviewed articles and two textbooks. Dr. Levine has received funding from the National Cancer Institute, the Department of Defense, Stand Up 2 Cancer, and the Gynecologic Oncology Group. He has been awarded the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Mentor Award, served as co-chair of the American Association for Cancer Research Special Conferences on Ovarian and Endometrial Cancers, received the Foundation for Women’s Cancer Excellence in Ovarian Cancer Research Prize, is the Assistant Dean of the Department of Defense Ovarian Cancer Academy, the translational science co-chair of the NRG Oncology Corpus Committee, a member of the NCI Cancer Prevention Steering Committee, and Chair of the NCI Cancer Biomarkers Study Section.